Obama is Missing His “Groundswell”

Kevin Drum:

I lean toward the Hillary approach because I think the Obama approach only works when there’s already a real groundswell of support for significant change (as in the 30s, 60s, and 80s, for example) — and as much as I hate to say it, I just don’t see that at the moment. I know the pundit class talks endlessly about the public’s hunger for change and its disgust with the politics of polarization, but aside from a nearly unanimous desire to get rid of George Bush it seems to me that the basic partisan divisions we’ve had for the past three decades are mostly still there. It’s sort of like negative campaigning, which still works great no matter how often the public says it’s sick of it.

But maybe I’m just blinkered. Maybe there’s a stronger hunger for fundamental change than I’m giving the public credit for.

Leave a Reply

