Thinking about an Opposition Party

For the second time in as many weeks, a friend sought me out for advice on conservative bloggers to read. As I put together some links (Ross Douthat, Ann Althouse, Rep. John Culberson, David Frum, Michael Yon and Patrick Ruffini), I realized that I’ve enjoyed their takes more in the last couple of weeks. It may be that the economic crisis has somehow brought me into line with folks with whom I usually disagree, but I suspect it has more to do with the increasingly common realization that Obama is likely to be occupying the White House in 100 days or so. The prospect of a conservative intellectual reinvention over the next few years while the GOP is in opposition is intriguing. (Of course, I suspect more than a few conservatives will be part of the next administration, as each day’s economic news brings us closer to national crisis.) All of which is to say, I’m looking forward to finally getting to Douthat’s Grand New Party.

Categories:

Leave a Reply

