Where to put the Obama Presidential Library?

Lee Bey suggests putting the Obama Library in Pullman:

I’m sure the lobbying machine is already being built in Hyde Park and the University of Chicago. But Obama’s early days as a little-known community organizer were spent on the far South Side. Back then, his strategy meetings took place at a McDonald’s just three blocks due south of the Pullman factory. The presidential library would bring the kind of investment, equity, attention–and yes, change–that the Far South Side, and Chicago, sorely needs.

3 thoughts on “Where to put the Obama Presidential Library?

  1. I believe putting a library in Obama’s neighborhood in his honor, is a good ideal ; I believe there should be a library in Obama’s honor in every city across America and Abroad.

  2. I believe the Obama Library should go to Hawaii….Our first African-American President and a first for our 50th State,,,,,what an honor for Hawaii and for the place he called home……

  3. Greetings All,

    I know this blog entry is a bit old now, but I wanted to share what I’ve been doing on this issue. I’ve been working on a website (similar in form to the Hawaii one) to help guide the efforts of bringing the Library to Pullman. Jesse Jackson, Jr.’s recent pledge to work toward National Historic Park status for Pullman might be just the boost we need for the cause. The website I’m producing is still in its formative stage, but if you’d like to see it, send me an e-mail at pullmanobama@gmail.com and I’ll send you the link. When it’s finished, we’ll be sure to post the link for everyone to have a look. Let’s get this moving…only five more years until the end of term number two!

Leave a Reply

