In praise of journalistic legends

I spent Thursday in the company of giants in the field of journalism at Columbia University’s conference on Watchdog Journalism. (Some Columbia Journalism students and recent grads blogged today’s sessions; Twitter coverage here.)

In responding to one of my twitter reports, Dan O’Neil pointed me to a piece he wrote last year that articulates some of the thoughts  that rattled around my head today as listened to courageous journalists from around the world:

It’s good for me to take a break from whining about this or that city official not calling me back, or some municipal department that turned down my Freedom of Information Act request, or some agency that provides partial data rather than every field I requested. I’ve got it made. For some, it really is life or death, captivity of freedom, torture or awards. And there are legends of this business that still live and breathe. Let’s try to keep them free, and appreciated, and keep working as hard as we can, wherever we are.

Leave a Reply

