The value of closed

Image
via maistora

As much as I love sharing and openness, increasingly my most satisfying Internet experiences involved closed, or semi-closed communities. Email list-servs, communal chats, Google Circles, “personal networks” like Path are where I’m having my highest value conversations. I still like the public platform of Twitter and need the functionality of email, but closed, trusted networks enable a depth of sharing, confidence and community that I don’t see on the wild, wild west of the Internet.

  • Circles in Google+ enables has accelerated this flexible sharing for me. This month, Hangouts have become a key tool for internal work conversations. Twice I’ve done hangouts to my Circles, resulting in spontaneous, productive conversations.
  • Kindle Profiles allows for a set of (managed) conversations about books that I did not have previously.
  • I wish Evernote could be less of a personal, and more of a communal, tool.
  • Someday our children will look back at the centrality of email in our lives and it will all seem funny.
Categories:

One thought on “The value of closed

  1. Yes, I’ve noticed this too. it speaks to the lack of (or perhaps impossibility of?) effective moderation in nearly all public forums. think newspaper comments. what I wouldn’t give to have a filter that screened all but a whitelist or relevant community from the comments of, say, the New York Times. Facebook does this, but brings Facebook baggage – lots of threads, little fine grain control.

Leave a Reply

